Rio 2007: It’s All About the Athletes

The USOC released quotes from American athletes about the Rio 2007 Opening Ceremony. As we looked at the quotes, it reminded us that it’s all about the athletes:

Roger Kiescchnick (Rockwall, Texas), Baseball (Outfield) “The Opening Ceremonies was absolutely amazing. It was the best experience that I’ve ever had.”

Erika Figge (Long Beach, Calif.), Water Polo (Attacker) “That was really cool. You can just tell how proud and excited Brazil is to have the Pan Am Games here. All the volunteers and the spectators were so enthusiastic; the energy was amazing. I think we all had goose bumps when we walked in and saw all the people there.”

Haley Dunn (Eddyville, Iowa), Shooting (Skeet) “I had no idea how big the Opening Ceremonies would be. It was an awesome show! The whole display was pretty extravagant.”

Lauren Cahoon (Jacksonville, Fla.), Taekwondo (Female Middle / Heavy) “I don’t usually get into fireworks, but these were great. It made me feel like I’m ready to compete. I’m just really excited to be here.”

Heather Petri (Orinda, Calif.), Water Polo (Attacker) “I actually thought it was incredible. It was one of the best Opening Ceremonies I’ve ever been to. The theme of the ceremony was energy, and I definitely thought it exuded that.”

Eva Lee (Orange, Calif.), Badminton (Women’s Singles / Women’s Doubles / Mixed Doubles) “Wow! That was like a once in a lifetime experience. It was amazing and so well put together. The flame was really neat too. We were sitting right next to it and when they lit it we were like, ‘Whoa, that’s hot,’ but we were kind of cold so it warmed us up. It’s neat how it looks like the sun. The whole ceremony was just awesome!”

Howard Bach, (San Francisco, Calif.) Badminton (Men’s Singles / Men’s Doubles / Mixed Doubles) “It was pretty amazing. It was very well organized and well managed. The atmosphere was amazing and the energy of the crowd is great momentum to get the Games started. It’s such a great feeling to be there and be a part of it. It was breathtaking!”

Michelle Quibell (Washington, D.C.), Squash (Women’s Individual / Team) “It was just awesome. I thought the whole ceremony was fabulous. It was a great experience. I will never forget it.”

Chantel Jones (Charlottesville, Va.), Soccer (Goalie) “When we first started walking through the tunnel, I couldn’t really see how many people were in the stands, but once we entered the stadium, I was shocked. It took my breath away. I have never seen that many people in one place before.”

Leave a Reply

